This is the Day

isaiah sleepsRight now I’m lying in bed typing this post because I’ve been awake since 3am. First, I put Ezra back to sleep. Then, Isaiah needed someone to lay beside him. And then Ezra woke up again.

These nights don’t happen very often, but when they do, they are hard. How are you supposed to have energy to face the day, energy to take care of these non-sleeping kids if you yourself don’t sleep either?

Around Eastertide, Isaiah and I started singing “This is the Day” at bedtime. It comes from Psalm 118:22 and following, which speaks of the day when salvation comes to God’s people. I like to sing songs with Isaiah that have significance within the church calendar, but as I sing I am reminded of my own salvation and how I am growing deeper into that day by day.

Even when I am sleep deprived. Even when patience is low. “This is the day that Lord has made; we will rejoice and be glad in it…Give thanks to the Lord for he is good; his faithful love endures forever.”

Leave a Reply

